Stuff

I’m going to do an epic catch-up blog shortly.

Meanwhile, briefly:

We have been married 103 days.  All is going brilliantly.  I chose well.  😉
I took and passed my Douglas County / Nebraska driving test yesterday so I now have a US and UK/European driving license.  The Nebraska DMV do not recognize a UK license as one of those that means you are exempt from being tested although the guy that dealt with me said “it’s crazy because the UK test is much harder to pass”.

Despite what I’ve been told about DMV staff they have been nice to me both times I’ve been in there and they even made jokes about the steering wheel being on the left when they were asking the mandatory safety questions.

The US “emergency stop” consists of slowing down as if you have a puncture, putting on the handbrake when you’ve stopped and putting on the hazard warning lights.  Luckily I read about this the night before my test because the UK emergency stop means “pretend someone has just stepped in front of the car and brake as hard as you can and come to a controlled stop without skidding or crashing”.  I told the DMV staff driving examiner about this and after lots of laughter and her saying “thank God you didn’t do that or I’d have had a heart attack” she went on to tell the other staff in the office as soon as I got back.

It snowed in November and never went away.  The coldest it got here over Winter was the equivalent of minus 27 degrees C.  It hadn’t snowed for about two weeks and it had nearly all melted except for the bigger drifts…until yesterday evening when it started snowing again, and hasn’t stopped although it’s probably too warm to lay around for long.  So far, about 2 inches on the grass and wet slush on the roads which, in Nebraskan terms is considered “Spring weather” and “quite warm”.  😀  There is talk of it getting as high as 50F next week, lol.  Roll on the 100 degree F Summer!

I have my Green Card which means I’m almost American.  No, I do not own a gun (male Brit friends seem to ask me this a lot) – unless you’re a robber reading this in which case, yes, I own a Bren Gun and eight assault rifles with the ammo slung in bandoliers in a cross shape over my chest Rambo style at all times.  Nobody puts Baby in the corner*

Girl Scout cookies are a) supremely moreish and b) a total nightmare to co-ordinate if you are the parent of a Girl Scout.

I have an ever-increasing collection of baseball caps.  This grows on the same upward curve as my waistline.

I have discovered Julia Child.  This is not going to help my waistline.

I’ve been here five and a half months now.  I don’t miss the UK at all.  I do miss British friends and family but not enough to jump on a plane, that’s what social networking and Skype is for isn’t it?

Anyhoo – hope you’re all OK.  What’s happening in your bloggy little world then?

*I may be deliberately confusing my movie references there for comedic effect…

18 thoughts on “Stuff

  1. Dirty Rambo Dancing. Yep, that’s pretty comedic.

    Glad to know you’ve settled in nicely but telling us about the food, motoring and the weather without one word about ‘the missus’ is going to land you in enough hot water to melt all the snow in a mile radius around you.

    Marriage 101, dude. Oh and have a nice day now 😉

  2. I don’t like the Bren/Sten guns, they have an aggressive ‘high and to the right’ pull. Recoil isn’t a significant problem though, the engineers got that about right. For burglars, you can’t beat a good pump-action shot-gun; no finesse, and not a great deal of marksmanship required. Does the job nicely.

    But the marriage thing is cockle-warming. Well done. And despite the weather, your new home has to be better than this place.

  3. My motto: If they go “high and right,” then begin “low and left.” ;O)

    Weather in Omaha is not boring. In the years we lived there, we saw tempertures ranging from -23F (-30.5C) to 110F (43C). Not on the same day, of course. Getting used to it is not a problem. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated.

  4. Brennig – the funny thing is I could walk down (er, I mean “drive down”, nobody walks anywhere in Omaha except in the park) to my local sporting goods store – Dicks, for example, and buy any kind of long-barreled weapon I like without requiring a permit. I only need to show my ID and pay the money. Long barreled weapons in Omaha are not even registered; you can buy them just like you buy a tent or rucksack. Pump action 12 bore? That’d be about 300 US dollars Sir.

    Bulldog – I am being assimilated very rapidly. I couldn’t imagine going back to live in UK now and I really feel like Nebraska is ‘home’. Well, what’s left of it after the snow has broken away 50% of the road surfaces and the ice jams have washed away some of the bridges. 🙂

  5. Welcome to the wonderful world of American bureaucracy, which, is not too dissimilar to UK bureaucracy, from what I’m told. I don’t understand either why they didn’t recognize your UK license and simply give you the Nebraska one, as everything that I know about UK driver’s tests are that they are far harder than any American one. A former paramedic colleague in NYC was Brit, and he was an all-weather motorcyclist. He told me about the requirements for a UK motorcycle test, and I had to wonder how many people here would pass one.

    Baseball caps? As long as they’re NY Yankee caps, and not Boston Red Sox caps, we can be friends. 😉 Sorry, grew up in the Bronx, third generation Yankee fan here. 😉

  6. I am old, almost 70, male, and arrived here as a first-time visitor on May 6, 2010 (U.K. election day) from Silverback’s blog.

    My new bride and I lived in Omaha — well, near Omaha, Bellevue — for three years back in the sixties when I was stationed at Strategic Air Command Headquarters in the Air Force. I learned all about programming computers and being a husband there. Loved the local people. Hated the weather, winter and summer.

    “Omaha Poet” does not compute in my tiny brain easily; definitely an oxymoron in my book. There was Edith Wharton way back when, of course, but she wrote prose.

    I spent exactly one night in the U.K. (London, Grosvenor Square area) back in 1969 when I worked for IBM and was on my way home from a month in Stockholm. I am more or less an Anglophile, sorry.

    Oh, welcome to the U.S. of A., by the way.

  7. Heh, well we all pretend Bellevue is Omaha – in fact one of the few other Brits I know around these parts actually lives in Bellevue and I’ve even been there.

    So far the Omaha weather has been…interesting. British people spend 90 percent of their time talking about the weather so it’s been a bit of a conversation starter for me to be able to talk to folks back home about five foot snow drifts and the prospect of 100+ degree heat arriving imminently.

    My father-in-law works for the Navy and last time he visited we all went to Orfutt where, of course, there is a lot of SAC memorabilia. He and I played on the bridge of a decommissioned B52 like a couple of schoolboys and pressed buttons and turned keys on weapon launching systems dragged from some disused silo. He’s also a bit of an Anglophile too.

    I assume you meant Anglophile and not Anglophobe 🙂

    There’s a surprisingly strong poetic culture in Omaha. In fact an entire website exists dedicated to all the various, almost daily, poetry gigs and events around here and places like Lincoln. Weird, but true.

    Thanks for dropping by and your welcoming comments.

  8. Yes, of course I meant Anglophile. If I had meant Anglophobe, I would have said Anglophobe. LOL!

    Nebraska was also the home of Johnny Carson of Tonight Show fame (town of Norfolk, I believe). Fun fact: I learned to drive on the streets of Plattsmouth, Nebraska, because I thought it would look funny if the bride had to drive away from the church.

  9. It’s a good thing I never had to take a driving test over here then – I’d’ve slammed on the brakes for an emergency stop! 20+ years ago I got a Massachusetts licence and they never made me take a test – mostly they just wanted my money!

    Despite the name, I was assimilated a long time ago I think 😉

  10. I think each state is slightly different. They did have a bit of a discussion first to try and see if they could accept my UK driving license as a straight pass but Nebraska specifically excludes it. The guy was very apologetic, explaining that the British test is far more rigorous than the Nebraska one (and it proved to be the case).

    Assimilation is inevitable – resistance is indeed futile. Luckily, we have cinnamon rolls over here to ease the pain. 😉

Leave a Reply

