Kill it, cook it, eat it

okkkkaaaay.  Just watched Kill it, cook it, eat it.

A very good and thought-provoking programme.  A bit melodramatic and lots of warnings over and over that they were going to show you several baby animals being killed ‘live’ in the quaint “please don’t sue us” BBC way.

The premise of the programme is that they film it at an abattoir which has been given a big glass wall for an invited studio audience to sit and pontificate about the poor little animals that are going to be brought in and killed before them.  Then, the carcasses are butchered and a selection is cooked in the studio.  There was a whiff of the “ooh look at us, we’re really going to gross you out now, aren’t we clever” from the Beeb.

Much hand-wringing and cooing and clucking over the baby goats and their death.

Sorry, if you eat meat, this should be compulsory from the age of 7 to have watched it.  I’ve caught fish, killed it, gutted and cooked it and eaten.  I’ve had rabbits, whole, freshly shot (and had pet rabbits, but didn’t eat them).  I’ve eaten camel, goat (had a pet goat too), horse, eel, live oysters (regularly, almost every week in fact), snake, crocodile, ostrich, pigeon, and kangaroo.  I think I can be safely described as a carnivore.  In fact there are very few foods I don’t eat.  I wouldn’t eat dog or cat but this is mainly on the basis that the animal husbandry and their slaughter is generally inhumane.  I have been offered and declined various types of insects although I do eat Éscargot (snails).

So, crying studio audience, what did you think happened to the sheep, cows and pigs you eat you muppets?  Shame on you for eating meat and pretending it got there by magic.  The animals had lives and a death, we should never forget that or we allow the possibility of cruelty and things like battery farming to persist.

Am I wrong?

10 thoughts on “Kill it, cook it, eat it

  1. geez… calm down. 🙂 You mean.. things don’t just appear on the grocery shelves? I suppose you think the tooth fairy is a myth, as well. Hmph.

  2. Country boy born and bred, me. No stranger to animal death in whatever guise it comes – nor the carcass preparation. It’s easy to say that it should be compulsory for all townies to view the lifecycle of a pig, chicken, beefer – in all the technicolour realism that life is really all about. In reality though, I’m not sure it’s a good thing. A large proportion of the public might turn vegetarian (like me), and then the agroeconomy would be down the tube. 🙂

  3. Agreed! Hence I am veggie…none of your trendy veggie mind you, 35 years time served version. Incidentally I have no objection to others eating meat just so long as they can do as you say and ‘look it in the eye’…oh and life and slaughter conditions must be up to scratch.

  4. Well this is my point entirely. Being a vegetarian is the humane option and one I have considered several times but decided against without needing to examine my reasons too closely. I do eat a very healthy and mostly ethical diet.

    I am also country bred (although born in London we moved when I was 3 to a small farming village in Bedfordshire – cue long stories about friends missing days off school due to accidents with farm machinery).

    Oh, and Fletch, I extend my “not eating it” viewpoint of insects to arachnids too – even if they do taste like chicken!

  5. being from that tree hugging hippy school you’d think i’d have more to say…….
    i wonder when we got so squeamish about it? last century sometime when everything got sanitised, literally and metaphorically – which has resulted in the nanny state crap which needs to be undone immediately. i approve of said show.
    meanwhile i had a disagreement with a mate who has kids the other day about whether one should encourage the nipper to believe in sata, the tooth fairy etc etc. i’m in the no camp – at xmas your parent buy you stuff – whats wrong with the reality there?

  6. I think, when the time is right, kids already know about Santa. In a way (speaking as a parent or step-parent of many many children 😉 ) they actually want you to pretend – long after they know the truth. It’s a bit like watching a good film twice or listening to a tune and singing along; the participation in the shared experience is much more important that the truth and how it’s sugar-coated. BTW: nothing wrong with hugging trees – trust me, I do it a lot. 🙂

    Well, I grew up in Arlesey in Beds when it was still very much all farmers and bogs that sucked down local people’s dogs. Now it’s apparently a town. I wonder if the people on the nice new housing estate ever wonder why their road is called “School Walk” or even know that I used to push my fingers knuckle-deep into the mortar of my Victorian School that stood on the site and provided that interesting feature wall for their back garden? I was “doing lines” (the old-fashioned ones that said “I must not fight with Michael Savage” 100 times and not the ones that people scrape together with credit cards and sniff up through tenners). We got off the last 20 minutes of detention after a bat fell from the school bell tower – which was above the school hall in which we were writing out our lines. How cool is that?

    Nowadays they’d have us sprayed against BSE and the teachers prosecuted for violating our human rights – and that’s without even considering the time I got the cane (again for fighting) or having my mouth rinsed out with liquid soap for swearing at the dinner lady. Very different times, the 1970s.

    Not that I ws a troubled child….noooooo…… 🙂

Leave a Reply

