New Year

Well OK, I never did get around to writing that password-protected entry did I? I will, promise.

Developments; managed to split up yesterday/this morning with the “sandwich lady” as she was known to my colleagues at work (largely because she used to drive one of those snack wagon things that brought the sandwiches). Long long story that I can’t put in an unprotected post but it includes the fact that we spent enough time together over the Christmas period to realise that it wasn’t going to work for either of us. It was one of those typical “we’ll still be friends and maybe in the future if things change” when, in fact there’s no way on earth that’s going to happen – reality bites. Yes, it is permanent.

Shit happens. I get my life back and I’ll be able to post lots of dodgy blogs about random women of questionable morality…maybe…hopefully… πŸ™‚

I have a stack of New Year resolutions all of which I intend to keep and none of which I have succeeded with in the past. I can’t discuss some of them (I’m such a tease) but printable ones include:

  • Publish my poetry book this year. I’ll make no money off it whatsoever, poets are meant to be penniless and full of angst, but I really feel I want to do it so I’m going to.
  • Lose weight. Properly. I am going to aim for two stones off. I’m not a fat porker, largely due to being six foot two and built like an outhouse door but I am overweight enough to have to make the scales reverse their onward climb. I’m keeping a “chart of shame” in a prominent place with a line graph on it to monitor my progress.
  • Get fit. I used to be, many years ago, horribly fit. No really I mean six pack hard stomach 100 press-ups without being sweaty or out of breath fit. Then I got married and discovered cakes. And cider. And chocolate. My return once again to my newly-found single status should spur me on since I’ll eat what I feel like and what I usually feel like is quite healthy. For evidence of this see previous blogs or my Facebook photos of the contents of my worryingly healthy fridge.
  • Get a car. I sold my car a year ago. I’ve done OK without it but it’s starting to impact on a few things. It looks like I will have a car at the end of January whilst my son-in-law is doing a tour of duty for the army – he says he wants me to use it to avoid it rotting on his driveway for two months which is plausible but I think he’s also being a bit kind to me.
  • Returning as a resolution from last year’s list: Pass my motorbike test and get a bike. Look, it’s NOT a mid-life crisis (if I say it loud enough to myself then it isn’t, so there). If you have watched Long Way Down then you’ll understand the kind of bike I am after. I want to be able to zoom up to Scotland for some camping, climbing and fishing and a decent-sized bike is the best way to do that; especially since the UK’s road system is becoming an increasingly useless parking lot. I started sorting this resolution out towards the end of last year but work, women and the tax man got in the way.

I’m off to do some spring cleaning now whilst listening to happy songs on my iPod. Songs by the following are NOT allowed: Alanis Morrisette, Cold Play, Radiohead, Leonard Cohen, Everything but the Girl, or Enya.

Blehhhhh.

21 thoughts on “New Year

  1. I can relate to a couple of things here:
    1. YES, the motorbike. As you may (or may not) know, I began riding a lot this year on a new Harley. Well, “new” and “Harley”, of course, not required in order to have fun riding, but it was good nevertheless. A bike is good to get on when frustrated with anything and just crank the throttle up on. How exciting! You definitely should!
    2. iPod listening, absolutely required on New Year’s Day morning, evidently. No Jewel or Whitney Houston or Carrie Underwood for me today. I’m sticking with N’Sync’s Space Cowboy. Sadly enough. πŸ™‚
    3. Chart of shame.. Oh, you need a sign to post on your cubicle wall/office door. “Hi. I weigh xxx today.” πŸ™‚

    Sorry to hear about your relationship. Better to realise it now, though, than too late, I always say.

    Have a good day!

  2. Aw, see, this is why I love blogging. πŸ™‚

    Lisa; Spring cleaning in Winter? Dare to be different – that’s my motto! Whitney Houston…gaah. I spent ten years as a DJ at the time when Whitney’s “I will always love you” was the number one requested song for slow dances in the erection section at the end of the evening. Horrible horrible horrible. [Shudder]. Jewel – definitely one to stay away from. I thought of another one too: “Fields of gold” by Eva Cassidy. It’s one of those songs that sounds like it should be on an album called “Music to commit suicide to”.

    Violet: Hello! Not come across you for *ages*. Happy New Year to you.

    So, two votes for the motorbike then. Woo hoo!

  3. Make that ANYTHING by Eva Cassidy. Whiney caah …

    My li’l bro passed his motorbike test just over a year ago and bought a bike last Christmas. He hasn’t ridden it an awful lot, because he’s under the thumb (and also, although he wouldn’t admit this, doesn’t like getting cold hehehe), but yeah, go for it. Girls dig it. Apparently. πŸ˜›

  4. If you do get a bike make sure to get a donor card at the same time and let your relatives know your wishes regarding your organs….just in case.

    With regard to the fitness I’m in the same boat. Used to be hideously fit, swim 10 miles, do an hour of weight training, then sprint home fit. Now I sit at a desk and lament the loss of my former physique. Do you have a plan? I mean other than the chart of shame.

  5. Hi. Just popping in to say, erm, hi. Nice place you have here.

    Oh and errr… Do the motorbike thing. I passed my advanced bike test last Christmas. Now I’m negotiating to buy a 6-month old Kawasaki ER6F. Roll on summer!
    πŸ™‚

  6. I am a firm believer that it is easier to avoid accidents on a motorbike than it is in a car. Two wheels, less weight, bike pretty much moves when you pull the handlebars either direction.

    I don’t think the donor card is necessary for motorbike ownership, but in general, I would highly suggest a donor card, whatever you are driving. πŸ™‚

  7. It’s true that agility is a bonus on a motorbike. Unfortunately the lack of protective frame and the idiocy of…well…people with cars sort of contribute to the lower life expectency of bikers.

  8. Ooh hello all, is this a private argument or can anyone join in? πŸ™‚

    Mr HF – I’ve always carried a donor card, and registered the fact on the web site and told everyone who might need to know that I’ve done that – and I didn’t wait until there was an increased risk to my life or a downward change in my life expectancy!! :-))

    IIRC you and I suffer from the same problem when it comes to diets – work-related torpor which has a curiously invigorating effect on the appetite. I’m assuming here, just pure guesswork. πŸ˜›

    I should point out to one and all that I’m not a novice at the “using a motorbike to adjust the total limb count”. 20 years ago I managed to get run over by a truck whilst riding my beloved (at the time) Suzuki. I woke up 15 minutes later minus several bits of skin and with the addition of six or seven yards of tarmac embedded into the gaps where the skin used to be. It was a mere six months before I could bend my knee again but at least I have the glorious consolation that I can show the rather impressive scar to easily grossed-out young children.

    In my biking experience it was indeed the car drivers that posed the greatest challenge to staying alive and beautifully unmarked but the lorry drivers did do their best several times over to squash me and turn my legs and bike into one of those metal cubes they get out of car compactors at the scrap yard.

    Plan? Er, eat less, eat healthy, exercise more (ok – exercise…full stop). If anyone has any bright ideas or suggestions let me know.

  9. The best exercise I know of – ride horses and take up three-day eventing. The bonus is this provides lots of opportunity for sexual activity. I’m not sure which one of these things keeps the body trimmer…

  10. DO NOT DO IT! Motorbikes that is, I’m with Hoverfrog they are really not a good idea. A visit to your local spinal injuries hospital would soon show you that being able to donate your organs may be the option you would prefer.
    I say this because I care about you, you old hippy, Leonard Cohen????

  11. Hey. We’re trying to have a disagreement here! hahaha

    Umm.. I need a password. It’s only fair. I’ve been waiting around for months for the private post. πŸ™‚

    BTW, I moved your comments on my blog over to haloscan. You are all fixed up and looking proper now. lol

  12. Blimey! I went to bed early and came back to oodles of comments. I don’t know, one little pause in my blogging and I’ve opened the floodgates again. πŸ™‚

    MWM – I might have to think about the password for you since you’re aware of the additional capacity for offence my protected blog posts could cause some mutual friends we have. I’ll have a think about it, my leaning is towards sending it to you since you and I have a long history of being blog bessie mates (much to the chagrin and befuddlement of Mr MWM). πŸ˜›

    You’ve already warned me about bikes and I am aware that a potential supplier/encourager has been told you’ll weld his feet to the floor if he so much as hints he might be able to get me a bike cheap… you can blame the Hairy Bikers and Ewan McGregor for putting the idea into my head again.

    Brennig – I might have better luck with horses!
    Leonard Cohen rocks. Hippy, me? The only hippies I know have a propensity for dying their hair purple. πŸ˜‰

  13. I’ve reread my comment and it seems that I’m discouraging you from getting a bike. This is not the case. Granted the chance of serious injury from an accident is higher but you have much less chance to actually injure someone else. While you will undoubtedly fall off it once or twice the chance of an accident is still small. When you do fall off it is imperative that you have an audience who can appreciate it. There’s nothing worse than a dramatic spillage that no-one witnesses.

Leave a Reply

